OFFICIAL: Baker Mayfield And Dede Westbrook Are Heisman Finalists

Credit Image: © Mark Makela/

It was just announced that Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook were invited to New York City for the Heisman trophy presentation. For Mayfield, he finished last year at fourth, and left without an invite to New York City. The two will become the 14th pair of teammates to be in the final five of the voting, and the first since 2008. Oklahoma had two finalists in 2004 when Jason White and Adrian Peterson were invited to New York City for the presentation.

Mayfield threw for 3,669 yards and 38 touchdowns in the 2016 regular season. This was good for 9th in passing yards in college football. He led the country in QBR at 197.8. Mayfield has been a resilient leader and led the Sooners to another Big 12 Championship after beginning the season at 1-2.

Out of nowhere, Westbrook has become the most dynamic wide receiver in college football. This season, he has 74 receptions for 1465 yards and 16 receiving touchdowns, out preforming his predecessor Sterling Shepard.

From a positional standpoint, this is one of the more diverse Heisman races as Mayfield and Westbrook will be joined by QB, Lamar Jackson from Lousiville, QB, DeShaun Watson from Clemson, and LB, Jabrill Peppers from Michigan. Each have had statistically outstanding seasons for their respective teams and very deserving of being named a finalists.

Lamar Jackson: 220 completions, 3390 passing yards, 30 passing touchdowns, 1538 rushing yards, 21 rushing touchdowns.
DeShaun Watson: 329 completions, 3914 passing yards, 37 passing touchdowns, 529 rushing yards, 6 rushing touchdowns.
Jabrill Peppers: 46 solo tackles, 66 total tackles, 13 tackles for loss, and 1 interception. 27 rushing attempts for 167 yards, and 5 rushing TD’s. 

The Heisman Ceremony is scheduled for December 10th, at 8PM ET in New York City.

Skip to toolbar